Essex Militia Commissioners 1659 and 1660

In 1659 the long parliament required the appointment f Country Commissioners to assemble all fit to bear arms and cause them to be armed, arrayed, weaponed and formed into troops and regiments. 

The commissioners were allowed to levy a rate from each county to pay expenses for this force.

 The 35 Essex Commissioners appointed were

 Sir Richard Everard (Langleys)

Sir Henry Mildmay ( Wanstead)

Sir Thomas Honeywood (Mark's Hall)

General Disbrow

Henry Mildmay ( Graces)

Robert Smith

Thomas Cook ( Pebmarsh)

Carew Mildmay

John Sparrow (senior)

Francis St John

Nathaniel Rich ( Stondon)

Colonel Salmon

Major Robert Mildmay (Terling)

Vice Admiral John Lawson

Christopher Earl

Dudley Templer

Henry Wright

Colonel George Crompton

Herbert Pelham

Robert Bragg (Hatfield Peveral)

John Brewster

Peter Whitcomb

Gobart Barrington

William Harlackenden (Earls Colne)

Captain Rayner

Mr Stephens (Maldon)

Colonel Richard Ashfield

Major Hezekiah Haynes

John Shawe (Colchester)

Mr Goldsborough

Augustine Garland

Sir Thomas Bowes

Thomas Peeke

Andrew Furmantle

Edward Turner.

 In 1660 when negotiations were taking place between Parliament on Charles 2nd regarding restoration of the monarchy, many of the Commissioners were dismissed and 82 new ones were appointed.

 The new commissioners were

 Earl of Oxford

Earl of Suffolk ( Audley End)

Earl of Warwich ( Leighs Priory)

Earl of Middlesex

Earl Rivers (Long Melford)

Lod Gray of Warke

Lord Maynard

Sir John Barrington (Hatfield Broadoak)

Sir Harbottle Grimston ( Bradfield) - Member for Essex

Sir William Wiseman

Sir Richard Everard - Member for Essex

Sir William Lockyn

Sir Andrew Joyner

Sir Martin Lumley ( Bradfield Great Lodge)

Sir Thomas Abdy

Sir Robert Kempe ( Spains Hall, Finchingfield)

Sir William Martine (Nettlewell)

Sir Thomas Honywood (Mark's Hall) - Member for Essex

Sir Thomas Bowes - Member for Essex

Henry Wright

Carey Mildmay (Marks,Romford)  - Member for Essex

Francis Mildmay

Gobert Barrington ( Tofts, Little Baddow) - Member for Essex

Oliver Reymond - Member for Essex

Henry Mildmay (Graces,Baddow) - Member for Essex

Herbert Pelham - Member for Essex

John Eden

James Melbourne

John Archer - Justice of the Common Pleas - Member for Essex

John Brampston ( Skreens)

Richard Wiseman

William Wiseman (Rivenhall) Sheriff of Essex

John Atwood ( Broomfield)

Edward Turner - Member for Essex and Speaker of the restoration House of Commons

Thomas Smith

Sir Thomas Barnardiston

Tristram Conyers (Walthamstow)

Capel Luckyn

Edward Glasscock (Chignall Smealy)

John Eldred

George Walton (East Horndon)

John Bendish

Thomas Fanshaw ( Barking)

Richard Harlackenden (Earls Colne)

William Harlackenden (Earls Colne)

Anthony Luther

Robert Calthorpe

Captain Ballard

William Glasscock

Captain Ashley

William Kempe

Richard Steynes

John Godbolt

John Shawe - Recorder of Colchester

Dr Glisson

John Gundry

John Sorrell

Edward Herrys

Robert Abdy

William Mot

Robert Josselyn

John Stevens

John Jennings (Maldon)

Thomas Luther

Thomas Middleton

William Chapline

John Levell

William Lant

Walter Plummer

Francis Gardiner

John Josselyn

Thomas Manby

Edmund Wild

Anthony Browne

Thomas Tendring

George Scot

John Langley

Thomas Cambel

Daniel Andrews

Edward Elkenhead

Thomas Gardiner

Thomas Middleton (Stansted)  

The changing times with the return of the King meant that only 10 of the Commissioners retained their roles and it is a fair assumption that they retained their influence in the new Essex.

 The most prominent omission was that of Sir Henry Mildmay who had been a member of the commission that sentenced King Charles 1st to death. 

He was also keeper of the Kings jewels and upon restoration he was asked to account for the jewels and was unable to do so. Sentenced to transportation to Tangiers in 1664 he died en route.