West Essex Militia 1778

The below men were the Officers of the Western Essex Militia following a mustering on 19 April 1778 during American War of Independence

 Colonel Commandant Earl of Rochford

Lt Colonel Richard Hunt

Major Sir William Smythe


Phillip Sturgeon

George Pochin

Daniel Scratton

William Harvey

John Strutt

 Captain Lieutenant Dagge Moore


Vincent Cunningham

Edward Gepp - also acted as paymaster

Charles Smith

James Holmes

James Vernett

George Pelley

George Butericke



James Swallow

Charles Smith

Charles Sidney

Richard Dore

Benjamin Rutland

Thomas Harriott

Source-The Essex Militia by John William Burrows published 1929